Gregor Townsend selects his team to face Ireland on Sunday

On his debut against Wales in 2012, Stuart Hogg went on to become Scotland’s top scorer and on Sunday will become just the fourth men’s player to win 100 caps for his country.

Read more: Hogg will captain Scotland at PT Murrayfield on Sunday

Johnny Gray and Jack Dempsey are also named in the starting fifteen in just two changes from the loss in Paris as Scotland go in search of their first Triple Crown success in 33 years.

Gray, who will enter Scotland’s top ten capped team in a 76th win, joins his brother Ritchie in the experienced second row with no Grant Gilchrist through suspension.

No 8 Dempsey got the first start of the tournament as part of a back row adjustment, with captain Jamie Ritchie moved to the open side and Matt Fagerson singled at the blind side.

Read more: Matt Fagerson thinks this is a ‘very exciting’ time for Scotland

Scotland’s first line again consisted of hooker George Turner, who was joined by loose defender Pierre Schoemann and Xander Fagersson (light header), the same trio who lined out against Wales and France in previous matches.

For the fourth match in a row, the First Division remained the same, with Stuart Hogg at full-back, while Kyle Stein and Doohan van der Merwe would line out on the wings.

Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones – the current leading scorers in the 2023 tournament – continue their central partnership.

Ben White and Finn Russell were again named at scrum-half and stand-off respectively.

Among the substitutes, Scott Cummings is in his first Guinness Six Nations entry this year, with fellow forwards Fraser Brown, Simon Bergan, Jamie Bhatti and Hamish Watson also in the squad for the tour.

Ali Price, Blair Kinghorn and Chris Harris completed the selection of 23 players.

Read more: Former teammates take on the Doddie88 challenge

Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs), Kyle Steen (Glasgow Warriors) Hugh Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Sioni Tuipoloto (Glasgow Warriors), Doohan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) Vin Russell (Racing 92) Ben White (London Irish), Pierre Schoemann (Edinburgh Rugby), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Xander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Ritchie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Johnny Gray (Exeter Chiefs), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Jimmy Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) Jack Dempsey (Glasgow ) the Warriors)

Substitutes: Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Jimmy Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors)
Simon Bergan (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby)

DISCLAIMER:- Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment